Always Look Up

11Aug23

Blog - SkyspaceTV #a

Earlier this week while I was sitting considering what to ignore next on my to-do list I stumbled across Forest, Field and Sky: Art out of Nature over on BBC4, a programme that you may have already seen given that it was originally broadcast on the 3rd May 2016.

The programme saw art historian, Dr James Fox taking “a journey through six different landscapes across Britain, meeting artists whose work explores our relationship to the natural world”, and finishing up at James Turrell’s Skyspace at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park.

Sadly I’ve not managed to get to this particular iteration of Turrell’s work, however, I have managed to visit the one that’s located a few miles from Weir HQ at Houghton Hall, and Mrs Weir and I also made it to the one that’s hidden deep in Keilder Forest while staying in Northumberland.

Our visit to Keilder was only a brief one, and the various visits to Houghton Hall are always limited by the hours the house and grounds are open to the public for, so I’ve never managed to experience the length of time, and as a result the level of change that Dr Fox did.

That said, even with my relatively limited experience of Skyspace I’d agree without any question that “this is one of Britain’s most inspiring artworks.”

Must get back there soon.

Blog - SkyspaceTV #b

Blog - SkyspaceTV #c

Blog - SkyspaceTV #d



No Responses Yet to “Always Look Up”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment