It Sticks Out Half A Mile

20Oct15

I do love a pier.

In fact I have to be honest and say that a holiday without a visit to a least one of Britain’s remaining piers never really feels like a holiday.

I managed to miss outlining details of our recent expedition back to the “the finest seaside resort in Western Europe”, and in fact I was only reminded of my omission on hearing a short programme in the Pier People series over on Radio 4 Extra about the pier in Llandudno.

So rather than bang on about the tremendous time Mrs Weir and I had in the North of Wales, I thought I’d briefly introduce you to the piers at Beaumaris (built in 1846 and reaching out to a distance of 570ft) and Bangor (opened in 1896 and reaching a deal further than the pier in Beaumaris to 1500ft).



No Responses Yet to “It Sticks Out Half A Mile”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

