“Sounding Like Sunday”

05Oct12

I’m mildy obsessed by John Wyndham’s ‘The Day of the Triffids’.

I’m not entirely sure why. It’s possibly because I watched BBC TV’s early 80s adaptation of the story at a particularly impressionable age. An age at which I’d yet to develop an understanding of the absurd but one where I had soaked up the many and likely possibilities for some kind of Cold War induced armageddonthe opening titles still scare the life out of me.

The latest copy of the book that I’ve now added to the collection is one I’m particularly pleased with as it comes with a number of excellent illustrations from Andrea Breeze in which the eponymous Triffids bear little or no resemblance to those I remember steeling myself against as a boy.

 
 



No Responses Yet to ““Sounding Like Sunday””

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

