On This Site

31Jan11

I do like a plaque.

Whilst the lady of the house does her bit helping to attempt restore the standing of our failing economy I prefer to wander the streets trying to keep out of trouble.

Whilst I wander I do like to look out for evidence of previous inhabitants and am constantly surprised by who and what I stumble upon. For instance getting lost whilst walking in London led me to meet, (as it were), Mr Charles Babbage, whilst round the corner I was introduced to Mr Barry, Robin and Maurice Gibb.

On my travels throughout the UK I’ve found, amongst others : Bertrand Russell, Joshua Tetley, George Orwell, the location of where Charles Dickens gave public readings in Newcastle, Louis Le Prince filmed the world’s first successful moving pictures in Leeds and a plaque commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Laurel & Hardy’s appearance in Southend-On-Sea.

So I was really pleased to pick up an excellent new guide to The Blue Plaques of Norwich at the weekend to add some purpose to my wanderings in the city and to help me locate Pablo Fanque – Britain’s first black circus proprietor, Jem Mace – a  world heavyweight boxing champion from the 1800s, The Norwich Post – the first provincial newspaper in England, Elizabeth Fry – prison reformer and star of the £5 note and the former location of Boulton & Paul – makers of the first all metal aeroplane in Britain.

Now all I need to do is work out how to put together my own version for my hometown, using these photographs, (that I’ve prepared earlier), and this website which is trying to find and provide data about all the commemorative plaques (often blue and round) that can be found across the UK and worldwide.



2 Responses to “On This Site”

  1. That is a great book. Have you seen the one outside KFC on Prince of Wales Rd, it commemorates where The Beatles played and then went and had fish and chips with fans. Of course, it’s now a KFC. Similarly the plaque on Nando’s on Red Lion Street about the Orford Cellar Jazz Club where Jimi Hendrix, David Bowie and Eric Clapton played.

    • 2 danielweiresq

      It is isn’t it ? The book features the plaque on Red Lion Street but not the one in Prince of Wales Road – that sounds a fine example – will hunt it down when I’m next in the city.

      DW x


Leave a Reply

