A Novel Idea

10Oct10

On the last day of November I’ll reach the seemingly significant age of forty, (email me for details regarding where to send flowers etc). As it happens I quite like birthdays and thankfully I’m not someone overly concerned with the passing of time, (well no more than most).

However given the respective dates involved details of National Novel Writing Month have taken on a deal more significance. And although I have had no prior desire to write such a thing, (and perhaps more importantly currently have no ideas about it’s possible content), I might just give it a go. Even more so given some of supporting writing on their website :

“Make no mistake : You will be writing a lot of crap. And that’s a good thing. By forcing yourself to write so intensely, you are giving yourself permission to make mistakes. To forgo the endless tweaking and editing and just create. To build without tearing down.”

That said fifty thousand words in thirty days does appear to be quite a tall order.



5 Responses to “A Novel Idea”

  1. It’s not quite as tall an order as you might think if you do some preplanning on your story, and pace yourself. It’s less than 2,000 words a day, and you can manage a few days when you pile up a lot more, you’ll have some leeway to relax. That said, it really can be a pretty exhausting slog.

    • 2 danielweiresq

      Preplanning eh ? That may be my downfall but hey it’s starting to get more and more tempting.

      DW x

  2. You can do it. If there’s one great thing about NaNo, it’s the amount of support you can find on the forums. Everybody’s crazy to be doing what November entails and it creates a lot of cameraderie.

  3. 4 Cathy

    Forty is just a number, it’s society that attaches meaning to it. Although ask me if I still think like that in a few years….*g*

    I thought of you and your novel attempt when I saw these. Very 60’s penguin I thought.

    http://www.notonthehighstreet.com/sukie/product/my-first-novel-notebook

    • 5 danielweiresq

      Indeed it is and to be honest it doesn’t concern me – as long as my family and friends shower me in expensive gifts. Which could happily include those gorgeous notebooks – they’re lovely aren’t they. Have to say don’t normally look on notonthehighstreet even though my sister has some jewerellery on there . . .

      DW x


Leave a Reply

