“Ice Flow, Nowhere To Go”

16Jan10

Skating on the fen.

This time last year I ventured out into the Fens to visit the Straw Bear Festival in Whittlesey – it’s a tremendous event and I can’t recommend it enough. I was due to go again this morning (with a somewhat reluctant guest) but the given that the weather had moved from incessant snow to incessant rain we decided that a day inside was preferable to out – having seen @tomcox75’s tweets from the event I think we made the right decision – “I’m at Straw Bear Festival, the Fenland event where people dress in straw whilst other people watch and get cold enough to die”.

On the way to last year’s festival (where the weather was equitably cold) I noticed something I was aware of but had never seen – ice-skaters on the Fen. So given that I’ve been at home all day I was pleased to see this film and this gallery in The Guardian today celebrating the increasingly infrequent event.



No Responses Yet to ““Ice Flow, Nowhere To Go””

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

