Interesting. Interested ?

10Jan13

I’ve no idea whether this is a good idea or not – or even whether it’s an idea I can actually follow through to completion, so this is me dipping my toe in the water to see what others think. I’m particularly interested in your views if you live in the confines of East Anglia or, remarkable as it may sound to some, live outside of our wild and lonely flatlands but are willing to travel.

For those of you who know me or have stopped by here in the past you may have read about me attending something called Interesting (if you haven’t and you’re of a want to do some light background reading then there’s a couple of posts on Interesting 09 over here and here, and one on Interesting North over here).

Interesting was a conference set up by Mr Russell Davies, and when he announced details of the first Interesting event, back in 2007, this is what he said :

“We’ve booked the Conway Hall for the 16th of June. Which is a Saturday. It’ll be about £20 to get in. I want to make it something almost anyone can afford.

The plan is to have all sorts of speakers speak about all sorts of stuff. Not brands, advertising, blogging and twitter but interesting, unexpected, original things. I’m hoping to find fascinating people and to just ask them to speak about something they care about. I want to replicate the experience of clicking from one really good blog to another, ranging across sciences, arts, musics, jokes and whatever. There will be 20 minute slots and 3 minute slots. Some people will play music or sing. And some people who can’t be there will be asked to send three minute videos. Perhaps. I reckon we can squeeze a lot of interestingness into a day. And then have a party afterwards.

But it’ll all be down to the goodwill and enthusiasm of the speakers anyway, because I won’t be able to pay any of them.”

Now I haven’t been as rash as to book a hall yet, but I’m wondering whether I should. I wondering whether that now’s the time to resurrect the idea – albeit that it’s been continuing to a certain extent in disguise under the very successful Boring tag.

So what does everyone (anyone ?) think ? Worth a go ?

I’m thinking Norwich in the autumn ?

Go on tell me it’s a daft idea.



16 Responses to “Interesting. Interested ?”

  1. Hello. I would definitely, definitely attend that, it sounds like a fascinating idea. I’m nowhere near Norwich (right on the Surrey/Hampshire/Berkshire borders), but I’d happily travel for it.

    • Blimey ok that’s good ! Need to consider whether I’m daft enough to progress to the next part of the plan – will keep you up to speed. Thanks for stopping by.

      DW x

  2. I live oop in Yorkshire but I would come down if it’s anywhere near as interesting as some of the things on your blog. Mass camping? With a bit of a car share thing going on as well, some of us could make it a journey of interestingness!

  3. 5 SA

    I’d definitely be interested in that. And I’m actually in Norwich!

    • Ah good man – and as the first on the blog to actually comment from Norwich you’re probably entitled to some kind of reduced ticket price. Although given the (current) theoretical nature of my plan I may be offering something with little or no value ! Hey ho they tell me it’s the though that counts.

      DW x

      • 7 Emma

        I would love to go and I know several others who would be happily dragged along. I live in Diss, 20 miles outside of Norwich.

      • Thanks Emma – not sure if I wholly approve of folks being dragged along – but if I go ahead with this I might be welcome of your ability to drum up an audience !

        DW x

  4. 9 Shifty

    Marvellous idea. I would imagine it would go down a storm in the Fine City of Norwich.

    There are plenty of lovely places to host something like this in Norwich and plenty of interesting people who’d get involved.

    Fire it up.

    • Thanks Shifty – comments much appreciated. Make come back to you if I get to the point of of actually doing it.

      DW x

      • 11 Shifty

        I’ve shared the idea with friends in Norwich and lots of enthusiasm. I’ll make them aware where they can help.

        Shifty

      • Cheers Shifty that’s great – spreading the word is of great help so keep on it !

        Thanks DW x

  5. I am both in Norwich and interested; sounds like this could be very cool!

  6. I think it would be great!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers