Keep Watching The Skies

05Nov09

I’ve been waiting to post this for a while now because it may be appearing elsewhere on the internet, however as a couple of people have asked me about my visit I thought I’d put it here at digyourfins for the moment as well. If it does appear elsewhere I’ll be sure to say . . .

Anderby Creek is not somewhere you arrive at by accident, in fact I was intending to visit and I still struggled to locate it after driving through a great deal of the very deepest and darkest Lincolnshire. Further confusion arose through my inability to understand the subtle difference between Anderby and Anderby Creek but eventually I did indeed arrive.

Part of the problem in my efforts to locate Anderby Creek was due to the fact that it doesn’t really consist of a great deal bar a large number of caravans and a wide expanse of (very pleasant) sandy beach, however since the 1st April earlier this year it’s also been the location of the world’s first ‘Official Cloudspotting Area’ and this was the reason for my journey, after all as member number 14364 of the Cloud Appreciation Society it’s surely a must see.

The Anderby Creek Cloud Bar, to give it’s official title, came into being after a disused beach shelter was given a new lease of life as part of the Bathing Beauties project. Designed by Michael Trainor it’s a simple wooden, (larch I believe), building featuring a number of cloud spotting menus, some cloud viewing seating, (which admittedly are better to look at than to sit on), and some slightly Heath Robinson styled self-operating parabolic cloud-mirrors – to aid in the viewing of clouds across the wide East coast skies.

I arrived as the sun was coming up and if nothing else the view of the North sea from the Cloud Bar’s viewing platform was worth the journey alone. When the Bar opened earlier in the year the weather wasn’t very kind at all, in fact the day was marred by, well by clear blue skies. I had no such problem during my visit, in fact quite the opposite in so much that almost as soon as the sun appeared it disappeared behind a thick unrelenting band of Altostratus, not the most attractive of clouds but I suppose cloud all the same.

It may seem a little perverse to travel any kind of distance to view something that’s available to you outside your front door but the Cloud Bar is worth a visit nevertheless and as Gavin Pretor-Pinney, founder of The Cloud Appreciation Society, said: “The Cloud Bar is an inspired way to remind the public that some of nature’s most varied and beautiful displays take place daily above our heads”, something we could all do with being reminded of eh ?



No Responses Yet to “Keep Watching The Skies”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers